The Coffee Cake Conspiracy

The coffee cake conspiracy: I hate it but it’s dear to me. This alcoholic fears the thing that most don’t even think of – what to drink, how not to sink when confronted with the awful clink of teeth against a glass, how the amber goes so fast into my stomach. I have done it – just like no one thought I would (that is, somehow found a way to turn all of the good things about me into soft nothings, cul-de-sacs, burnt out stars). I need to swap my blood out for the oil in my car, my veins are sludgy swollen black things that no one wants to touch. The coffee cake conspiracy: I hate it but it does help to keep something you hate close so that no matter how twisted, no matter how off-track you go, you have something there beside you, annoyingly letting you know there is still work to do.

~ by perfectionatrix on July 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
