Blanket Dreams

You can’t ask them like I do, because then it never works. Once they know you’re desperate, they’d rather make you hurt. They might like me til they hear me – thinking, god won’t he shut up? But they do not care much for bluntness; as it turns out, off the cuff remarks are something of a lost art and no one let me know. You can’t speak to them as I do or they’ll take their friends and go and joke about the way my hair looked or how smooth I thought I was. They want someone much more pleasant – better mannered, much less fuss. It was a bad dream but it’s my fault.

~ by perfectionatrix on June 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
