Flashlight Tag

Something near the woods was moving – twilight came and found us losing kids to dinners with their parents. I told my sister I was scared and couldn’t tell her what it was – she told me to shut up because someone was coming. Next, we’re running towards the swingset – she’s ahead (her legs are longer). In a few years, I will be stronger but now I am small and stare at the black spot where the woods grow bare because I know that somethings there – something secret, dark, and heavy – a hungry wolf that came to get my barefoot feet between its teeth. Heat lightning; I can see its outline moving through the trees. I hear its padded feet crunch on indian summer leaves. The last kid: ollie oxen free. My mother appears at the window and says it’s late, come in.

~ by perfectionatrix on February 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
