Letter to Topanga

I like to pretend anytime that we’re together that every thing you say means that you will love me forever. It is nice for me to think that each glance my way holds meaning far beyond what others see when we are so drunk we are leaning over handrails spitting water ignoring phone calls from your father; this is not some standing offer to put pennies in your coffer. No it’s a way of pacifying myself through devotion to denial, it’s being comfortable with lying to your face and softly sighing as I turn to you and say, “What? No, that’s alright. I really didn’t want to stay”

~ by perfectionatrix on January 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
