Ototoxicity

Deafness – no I barely even notice. I mean, given options, I wouldn’t have chose it the way that I did like an eager young kid spending all day in a pool because he turned six the weekend before when I sat at my speakers. Each song blared out, no discernible features just skipping as tracks would pause and click back, the silence contrasting the white noise with black beautiful silence that didn’t last seconds. Nothing so quiet could be expected to remain in a loud, loud world like this long. I ruined my ears listening to loud songs because in some primitive part of my brain I thought that somehow you’d feel it and it’d make you want to step back into a life that you used to be part of. The songs may have changed, the dynamics are harsher, but deafness – no I don’t notice at all.

~ by perfectionatrix on December 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
